HSU Cycling Record Win at Conference Championships

By Vicky Sama

HSU Cycling made history today, becoming the Western Collegiate Cycling Conference Mountain Bike Champions and beating all Division I and II teams in the overall standings.

One of the team’s most outstanding cyclists this season, Ali Osgood, won Sunday’s downhill race at the conference championships at Boggs Mountain in Lake County. She finished in 2nd place in three other conference races this weekend– short track, cross country and Super D–which put her 2nd overall in the top women’s individual omnium standings.

Sara Schneider dominated the women’s B races all season. She won Saturday’s Super D, making her the category’s gravity and endurance omnium leader. Clara Nilsen got 2nd in the women’s B Super D and 3rd in Sunday’s short track, which earned the team valuable points in the overall ranking.

In the men’s highest category, Steven Pearl was 2nd in the XC, 3rd in Super D and 3rd in short track.  Pearl tied with teammate Justin Graves for 3rd in the overall omnium. Graves finished just ahead of Pearl in 2nd in Saturday’s Super D race.

Tyler Green at WCCC ChampionshipsTyler Green #851 chases down the competition in the men’s C short track at the WCCC Championships. Photo courtesy Cal Cycling.

In the men’s C category, Tyler Green won the Super D, got 3rd in short track and finished 2nd overall in the omnium. Harry Ward also finished on the podium in 3rd in the omnium.

It was a historic mountain bike season where HSU was the top ranked team every week all the way through conference championships! HSU has won conference championships consistently for more than five years, but this is the first time the team has beaten all the teams both inside and outside its Division II school group. HSU beat all the schools in Division I as well.

Harry Ward at WCCC DHHarry Ward shreds the men’s C downhill at the WCCC Championships at Boggs Mountain on Nov. 17. Photo courtesy Cal Cycling.

The HSU team goes in the history books with the following students who raced this mountain bike season: Ali Osgood, Steven Pearl, Alvin Garlejo, Sara Schneider, Justin Graves, Justin Gore, Derek Roelle, Tyler Green, Harry Ward, Eli Robinson, Clayton Kelley, Clara Nilsen, Marina Marcroft, Caryn DeFrees, Cole Humphrey, Dylan Wright, Dylan Fluet, Justin Lowe, Ashely Hansen and Katelyn Hill.



About hsucycling

Ride for HSU.
This entry was posted in Mountain Bike Season 2013, Western Collegiate Cycling Conference Championships and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s